Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Vicious

I am certain that there is no creature on Earth more vicious than the woman. Even more specifically women in their teens, 20s and 30s. I mean, we can really go for blood in just about any situation! I’m reminded of that movie Mean Girls. It was funny but also so true. I have come to realize that some females just never grow out of that phase and some never enter it. I like to think that I never acted like that. I can’t remember ever being eager to cause someone else discomfort like that.

Anyway, I met a woman here in Korea who seemed really cool at first glance. She’s one of those people who is a lot of fun when it comes to finding something to do on Saturday night but any other time you find yourself wondering why you communicate with her. I don’t know that I have ever heard her say anything nice about anyone. When we hang out, she is constantly complaining and finding reasons to be angry with people. She’s just mean-spirited by nature…and it’s really annoying. I’d hate to hear what she says about me behind my back.

So my point here is….I wonder why so many women are like that. Attacking other women for no reason….constantly talking about other people…etc. I think it comes down to insecurity. I know that this particular woman mentioned a few times that she gained a significant amount of weight since she came to live here. She has also had some trouble with some of the schools she applied for job in turning her down because she was black. ( Yep. They told her that they wanted someone white. They can do that here in Korea.)

A while back when I was still in the States, there was an interesting talk at church. Rev.Richard was talking about the reasons why people say and do things to hurt others. Deep down, they are really hurting too. Turning around and being hateful is the natural response and everyone is guilty of it at one time or another. He told us that the key to not taking those things personally is remembering that they are more than likely doing it because somewhere, somehow they are hurting. This is something that really helped me when I was working in a public high school back home. Those kids were good for that. I had to remember that they were going through some messed up stuff and that was the reason for 97% of the messed up stuff that came out of their mouths.

People are so sensitive. Some would never admit that but we really are. It’s really interesting to think about all of the ways we deal with ( or don’t deal with) our issues.

November 21, 2011 - Posted by | Affirmation, Bitching

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

