Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Seasons Change

Winter is a rough time for me. Not only do I hate the cold, I also have Seasonal Affective Disorder. Gloomy weather literally changes my attitude and depresses me. I was told all of this two years ago when I had a mini break down that took me out of work for the last two weeks of the first semester. At the time, I was put on antidepressants (Wellbutrin) and sent on my way.

Since I’ve been in Korea, I have been fighting the depression that I’ve been dealing with since high school with no meds. I simply forgot to take them in all of the excitement of moving here. I have been using affirmations and positive thinking to turn things around. I have my days when I just don’t want to get out of bed but those are few and far between now. This week, I had a little bit of a relapse but I am back on track now. I did notice though, that as the sun started coming back out, I got a better grip on myself. It’s so strange to feel like a slave to the weather. I am in control here though and I have to do the things that I know will make me stronger. I can’t be awake at all times of the night and early morning and expect to feel my best. Eating junk food all day is not going to help either. Being lazy and not getting exercise is only going to bring me down faster.

In other news…date this weekend…possibly one tonight. That’s all.

 

 

December 1, 2011 - Posted by | Affirmation, Bitching | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

