Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Top 5 Reasons I Wish I Could Live in a Romance Novel

I like to read romance novels. When I was young, I used to look at the covers of my Mother’s collection and think how lame the books must have been. Then I finally opened one up and read some of it. I really got hooked when I stumbled onto the work of L.A.Banks and Sherrilyn Kenyon. Ever since then, I have been constantly on the search for more paranormal romance novels. So as I finished another book tonight, I had a couple of thoughts about what life would be like if I lived in one of these novels. Here are my top 5 reasons that I wish I could live in a paranormal romance novel.

#5- The men are always SO SEXY! They always have a dangerous sex appeal and the authors describe them in such a way that almost makes you sweat. They can be tan with dark hair or pale with sparkling blue eyes, either way, the are always drop dead gorgeous. When you get into a good series, there are always 3 or more sexy men who are all friends or related in some way and they each get their own book. Can you imagine living around all of those hot men?!

#4- The women are always so strong. Sometimes they are feisty and independent, and sometimes they are quiet and don’t know they are strong until something bad happens and they have to kill a bad guy or use some newly discovered power. I love that the women in these stories show their strength and determination. Not only that, but they are willing to do whatever they have to do in order to be with their man.

#3- The love is unconditional. I love those stories where the woman starts off being insecure about her body or about something that happened in her past and then this sexy, powerful man comes into her life and shows her that she IS desirable and beautiful. I think that we all need that some times and in these stories, they always get that. No matter what….extra pounds, scars, violence in their past…..these men truly LOVE their women.

#2- The sex is amazing! The authors always write these amazing sex scenes that leave you hot and bothered but what drives it home for me is the fact that the sex is amazing BECAUSE these two people were meant for each other and they actually love one another. The connection between them is so strong emotionally that their bodies are completely in sync.

#1- The woman always gets her man and they always live happily ever after. No matter how much they can’t stand each other at the beginning or what/who threatens to tear them apart during the story, you always know that they will fall in love and be happy together. Everything is going to work out. I like that I can count on that. I crave that kind of security in my own life though I know it isn’t realistic.

So having said that…I wonder if reading so many romance novels has filled me up with unrealistic expectations and silly dreams. Is it possible that paranormal romance novels have ruined me for real men?

December 15, 2011 - Posted by | Affirmation, Bitching, Less than 3 | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

