Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

30 Days of Truth: Day 13

A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days:

Dear Miss Jill Scott,

I was introduced to your music in high school. I was in love for the very first time and I liked to throw ” Who is Jill Scott” on and just dream about the possibilities.  It wasn’t until I got older that I really started to appreciate the meaning in your other songs….the songs that were about walking away when things are working out and being lied to and hurt. As I started to experience those things, I started to TRULY understand those songs. Freshman year of college, that same high school sweetheart of mine ( though we were off and on) took me to see you in concert. I’m not going to lie, I fell out twice in all of the excitement….when you first appeared on stage and then at the end of the concert when you sang MY song.” He loves me ( Lyzel in E Flat).” That song got my heart and my mind going every time. It got me thinking about the way love really could be…should be because I deserve it. ( I also won $500 in a Karaoke contest with that song! )

I know that everyone always says that they feel like their favorite singer is singing to them but what I feel is a little different. I feel like you have peeled back all of the layers of me and turned what you’ve found into beautiful, meaningful music. My heart thanks you a million times over.

I was in college when” Beautifully Human” came out. I rushed out to Best Buy to pick it up as soon as it came out and played it on the way back home. The first time I heard “The Fact is ( I need you)”, I cried the rest of the way back to my apartment. I hope you understand how powerful your music is!  Just like before, I fell in love with the entire album and it stayed on repeat in my car, in my home, and in my head.

“Experience: Jill Scott” took me back to the concert that night and gave me a new song to get me through the tough days. I programmed my stereo to wake me up to “Gotta get up ( Another Day)” every morning. I definitely felt like I didn’t want to go to class or work every day and could think of a million other things I wanted to do but your song reminded me of my responsibilities and my strength to get through the day even when I really just wanted to crawl back into bed. Sometimes I was just tired and some times I was struggling with the depression that had plagued me since high school.

When “The Real Thing” came out, I had made a big move across the country from North Carolina to Arizona and was going through a lot of changes. ” Hate on me” and ” Wanna be Loved” became my favorites on what turned out to be yet another amazing album. I heard it for the first time in Vegas when I was visiting one of my sorors and of course I ran out and bought it ASAP.

While I was in AZ, I saw you in concert a second time and again, I found myself getting overly excited and falling out in my seat. I had seen you in  Why did I get Married and in my opinion, you are the best part of the entire movie. The part toward the end when your character came in with her new husband, looking great and rejoicing for the new life she had found, it made me cry. It still makes me cry every time I watch that scene in the lady’s room. During your concert, someone in the crowd yelled out a comment about the movie and you talked briefly about the experience. One thing that I love about seeing you in concert is how you interact with your audience and your amazing energy. I came away from that concert with even more love for you, a t-shirt with your face on it, and a tote bag with the tour information on it.

I know that you were disappointed when your album ” The Light of the Sun” wasn’t nominated for some awards ( I follow you on Twitter.) but I want to tell you that the album changed my life! When it came out, I had already made the move here to South Korea.  I felt like I was listening to the same Jill that I knew and loved but something was definitely different this time. I loved the collaborations you did with Eve, Anthony Hamilton, Doug E. Fresh, and Paul Wall!!! I also loved hearing the things that went on in the background while you created the album. This album made me feel like I knew you better…almost like we were girlfriends having lunch and talking about life. The song, “When I Wake Up”….I can’t say enough about how this song has impacted me! When I am going through something that hurts…something that confuses me…I listen to that song. I made it the tagline for my blog and one of the other songs on the album inspired the name of my blog. I live in an officetel building that has a small convenience store built into it. A couple of weeks ago, I was inside the store buying bread and I heard what I thought was the beginning of “When I Wake Up” come on. I was thinking…no way…these people don’t know anything about that. I got to the cash register and sure enough it was MY song! I got so excited and started talking to the cashier about how I absolutely LOVED the song. He just smiled and asked me again for the money I owed him. There I was in a random store in South Korea and that song came on. It was such a beautiful moment for me because I felt like it was a sign that I was doing something right….that I was on the right track and I was being encouraged to keep it up.

What I really want to say Miss Jill Scott, is THANK YOU……a million times, THANK YOU for the music, for the inspiration, and for being someone whom I can look up to. You are a powerful and amazing woman and I know that my life would not be the same without you.

Love,

A Fan for Life

 

January 1, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation, Less than 3 | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Very awesome. I love Jill Scott as well and your blog posts. Keep it up!

    Comment by LMS | January 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

