Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Thinking About You…

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/hub.1324331373.html

I heard the song first on Youtube. I ran across a version with Justin Bieber and Jayden Smith. ( Justin NAILED this song and I love his part…not so much for Jayden….) I thought it was just a song that they wrote to do together. I had no idea that it was a song by Frank Ocean until my best friend told me. Honestly, when I first heard a clip of Frank Ocean’s song Novacane, I was not feeling him at all. I thought he was overrated. I absolutely LOVE this song though and it has been on repeat for a few days. I’m going to post the lyrics here and then talking about why I love this song so much.

Thinking About You – by Frank Ocean

A tornado flew around my room before you came Excuse the mess it made, it  usually doesn’t rain In Southern California, much like Arizona My eyes  don’t shed tears, but, boy, they bawl

When I’m thinkin’ ’bout you (Ooh, no, no, no) I’ve been thinkin’ ’bout  you (You know, know, know) I’ve been thinkin’ ’bout you Do you think  about me still? Do ya, do ya?

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout forever (Oooh, oooh)

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout  forever (Oooh, oooh)

No, I don’t like you, I just thought you were cool Enough to kick it Got a beach house I could sell you in Idaho Since you think I don’t love you,  I just thought you were cute That’s why I kiss you Got a fighter jet, I  don’t get fly it, though

I’m lyin’ down thinkin’ ’bout you (Ooh, no, no, no) I’ve been thinkin’  ’bout you (You know, know, know) I’ve been thinkin’ ’bout you Do you  think about me still? Do ya, do ya?

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout  forever (Oooh, oooh)

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout  forever (Oooh, oooh)

Yes, of course I remember, how could I forget? How you feel? And  though you were my first time A new feel It won’t ever get old, not in my  soul Not in my spirit, keep it alive We’ll go down this road ‘Til it  turns from color to black and white

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout  forever (Oooh, oooh)

Or do you not think so far ahead? (Ahead) ‘Cause I been thinkin’ ’bout  forever (Oooh, oooh)

 

Ok…this song is so hot!

I love it because it’s a man….expressing his feelings! We live in a society that frowns upon such things and labels men who do it as gay. Males are encouraged to keep their emotions and feelings to themselves and be strong at all times. I’m sorry but there is nothing that turns me on more than a man who can express how he feels like this. He is admitting to crying over her, thinking about a future with her..etc. WOW! At a time when the most popular music is about shaking ass and meaningless sex…this is a big deal to me. Also, he addresses her insecurities her as well in the second verse. His lyrics there are basically saying ” You think this is bullshit….no THIS is bullshit ( beach house in Idaho/fighter jet) and the way I feel about you is real. I love it love it love it!

I think maybe I will post more songs like this that I love because this just made me feel really good.

January 3, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation, Less than 3 | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

