Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Until your well runs dry…

 

The following is a status update from one of my former students in Arizona:

****

iReally Miss Ms. Harper Dude, iWas Actually Switched Out Of Dance For Second Semester Because It Wasnt Fun For Me Anymore, But After iGot On Staqe And Got To Dance By MYSELF. iRealized iBelonq In Dance And iKnow Ms.Harper Wouldnt Want Me To Give Up Because Of Some Teacher. Ms. Harper Yu Tauqht Me To Believe In Myself And Always Be Open To New Types Of Choreoqrapy. Everytime iWalk In The Dance Room iThink Of Yu :] iJuss Want To Say Thank Yu Ms.Harper Yu Made Me A Better Dancer And Helped Me Get Over My Fears ♥ iLove Yu And Miss Yu :]

****

This really made my day when I read it and every time I go back to it, it brings tears to my eyes. I have heard from a lot of my former students since I have been here and many of them did not completely understand or like me when I was there but now that I’m gone, they have a better understanding of why I did the things I did and who I really was. Now that they have a teacher who doesn’t seem to really care about them as people, they have come to see that everything that I did was out of love and consideration for them. It’s a bittersweet moment because I don’t want them to have to deal with someone who doesn’t care but…I think it’s a lesson that they needed to learn. So…maybe they will learn to appreciate the people in their lives before they are gone. ( Even if they don’t totally understand them.) I also think that the other people in the school…the admins and other teachers….have come to appreciate me more as well.

I really love everything that this message stands for. I am thankful for a lesson learned and for the affirmation that I made a difference in a child’s life.

January 6, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

