Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

30 Days of Truth: Day 19

Your views on religion or politics:

 First of all, these are two tools that people like to use to justify taking away the rights of other people. If done right ( and fairly) these two concepts are BEAUTIFUL but we ( being the people we are) have turned them into something ugly and unpleasant. We have turned them into things that we can’t talk about in mixed company for fear of starting a fight. I hate how people have taken the Bible and twisted its messages around to justify the horrible things that they’ve done to other people.

Religion has always played a role in my life. I grew up in the Baptist church…sunday school, sunday service, vacation bible school…the whole shebang. Once I got old enough to make my own decision, I stopped going to church regularly. I didn’t like the way it made me feel. It wasn’t the Bible or the intended message that bothered me but the actions of the people in the church. I was amazed that one place could house so much gossip, anger, and deceit. I was taught that I could only come to church if I was wearing a nice dress and I had money in my pocket for offering. Sunday mornings turned into fashion shows and holy spirit competitions between the Pastor’s wife and the Deacon’s wife. ( Who can scream the loudest and jump the highest without actually feeling the holy spirit?!)  I was not pleased.

When I started going back to church, it was at the request of my Mother. She had similar feelings to mine when it came to the churches she grew up going to and how church should be. She had found a church where the people were warm and inviting and nobody was made to feel like an outsider. The church had members from all walks of life…..young, old, gay, straight, married, single, conservative, liberal…everyone! This was my first taste of Unity church and I loved it. The messages were completely different. It was no longer ” Do right or you will burn in the bowels of hell” but ” How to live the happy and full life God wants you to have”.  In addition to Bible study, you could take meditation and yoga classes there. You could learn more about  The Law of Attraction! ( That concept still blows my mind!) It is totally normal to see a person walk into a Unity church on Sunday wearing jeans OR someone else wearing a nice dress because they understand that it DOESN’T MATTER!  Their worship sometimes includes songs from artist like Michael Jackson or the Beatles that have messages that can be applied to life. ( At Unity in Phoenix, they did a 4 week special on the life messages hidden in the music of the Beatles!)

When I left NC, I immediately found the Unity church in Phoenix. At the time, there were 3 main Pastors…two of which were females who were married to each other.  I didn’t attend every single Sunday but I was back in the church and loving it. I took classes, bought inspirational gifts in their store, meditated, and sang. THAT is what religion should be! It should be open to everyone and full of positive messages about life instead of making people feel like they aren’t worthy of God’s love. 

 

January 10, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

