Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

30 Days of Truth: Day 20

Your views on alcohol and drugs:

I’m not a big drinker and sometimes that’s a problem for other people. Oh well. There are three reasons why I don’t really drink much. The first is because I was raised in such a way that made me feel like alcohol was not a big deal. My father would come home and have his evening cocktail and when I was little, he would allow me a sip of his beer here and there. Some people might say that’s awful but I really do think that because alcohol wasn’t presented to me as this dangerous thing that had to be kept from my sight, I understood that it really wasn’t that big of a deal. When we travelled to Jamaica in the summers, it was normal to see a child drinking a beer.  Don’t get me wrong, I had my moments as a teenager when I would sneak a swig of alcohol but those moments were few and far between because I just wasn’t that interested.

Another reason is because I have seen what alcohol does to people who can’t control their urges to drink. I’ve watched people drink to get away from their problems, become violent from drinking, get touchy-feely from drinking, die of complications from heavy drinking, etc. It jus isn’t attractive to me.

My last reason is because I don’t like feeling like I’m not in control of myself. I hate the thought of being so drunk that I do something really stupid or dangerous. I’m also one of those people who is really afraid of vomiting ( esp. in public) so I like to stay away from too much alcohol.

I think that it’s amazing how they are so strict on laws against marijuana but you can buy alcohol all day and everyday and drink yourself into a stupor and end up killing yourself and others in an accident. I understand that marijuana is a gateway drug and all I think that alcohol can be too. I think that if they can approve its use for sick people, they ought to just legalize it and ration it out. ( That way they can kind of control it.) The effects of smoking it aren’t any worse than that of smoking cigarettes. That’s another thing….those are perfectly legal and available even though they kill people but people can’t get marijuana when they want it.

Don’t misunderstand me, I do not use any illegal substances but I also don’t see what the big deal is. Legalize it already and that will get rid of some of the problems. Some people may think that makes me an awful person but I think that unless there is some kind of big threat from it, people should be able to make their own decision about it. I mean, alcohol and cigarettes are bad for us and we can get that any time we want!

January 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

