Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Sexed up

I just returned from Malaysia and Singapore and I was really surprised at the way that Black women ( Black Americans and Africans) were treated by the men there. There was a lot of staring at certain body parts, suggestive comments, etc. I spent most of my time trying to make sure that I was fully covered because it bothered me so much. I don’t like being treated like an object on display. The person traveling with me seemed to think that the blame fell on just the African women ( not the Black Americans) living there because of the way they were dressed and the way they carried themselves. I’m not so sure about that. What is it about Black women that makes us targets of this kind of treatment? I understand that women as a whole are objectified but I noticed that in these areas, only the African and Black American women were treated this way. Also, I definitely think that a lot of people have preconceived notions about Black women sexually. Is it mostly media or are we actually helping to keep the stereotypes going in our everyday lives? What do you think?

February 2, 2012 - Posted by | Bitching | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I took an afro-caribbean wife to Singapore for two years. It seemed to me that there was a definite racial pecking order firmly established there. The Chinese hold the power and consider Europeans and Japanese their equals, next come the Malays, then the Thais, Burmese and Indonesians, at the bottom are the Indians (mostly from Tamil Nadu). My wife felt that she was classed along with the Indians. She always felt safe enough and I don’t recall her complaining about any sexual advances or being treated like a sex object, but she was uncomfortable with the racial status quo, as was I.
    I wonder if this is part of your experience?
    Rob.

    Comment by wobsy | February 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Honestly, none of it was as bad in Singapore. It was mostly in Malaysia that I had problems with the staring and sexual comments. We had one young boy flash us his penis as we were walking by a market one night in Kota Kinabalu. It was unreal. I would actually think about living in Singapore because it was so much better. I liked it there.

      Comment by truewomanifesto | February 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

