Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

I’m Single- Why I don’t hate Valentine’s Day

For as long as I’ve been alive, Valentine’s Day has always been a very commercialized, lovey-dovey kind of day. Everyone is so focused on whether or not they are in a relationship and that has become the main theme of the holiday. I used to get sucked up into that as well and it was miserable…especially since I spent most of my Vdays as a single person. I have come to realize though, that what needed to change was my attitude.

My mother has always made sure that I knew that I was loved on Valentine’s Day. When I was growing up, she would set the breakfast table up with Vday goodies for me. There was always candy and a card and usually there would be a cute pair of Vday themed socks or something like that. It wasn’t the THINGS that she gave me on that day that told me that I was loved. It was the time and consideration it took to do that for me. My fondest Valentine’s Day memories have nothing to do with romance…they have more to do with unconditional love and gestures of love from all sources. ( esp. my Mom)

I am spending this day contacting people who are important to me and telling them just how much they mean to me. That’s what it’s all about for me.

February 14, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation, Less than 3 | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

