Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Why do we stay? (And return?)

When things are good...

 
 
 
 
 Recently there has been a lot of talk about Rihanna and Chris Brown. People are saying that these two are making music together and possibly getting back together. I’m not big on celebrity gossip but hearing about this has made me think about a few things. Why do people stay in miserable situations or return to people who have damaged them? How in the world do you just forget about being beaten down ( physically or emotionally) by someone? I’m reminded of  all of those episodes of daytime talk shows where people are confronted with the same question and the answer is always the same. ” But, I love him/her”.   It seems to me that we will allow things to go very wrong and very far in the name of love. Are we so hungry for love that we will push aside our self-respect and let someone treat us like we are subhuman? Absolutely…I see it everyday. But what happens inside a person to make them believe that this person who is really torturing them actually loves them? 
 
 

How do you forget about this?!

 
 
 
 Personally, I have never stayed with or returned to someone who made me miserable but I am guilty of sticking myself into the same unhealthy situations over and over. The people change…the misery doesn’t. I think that some times I do it with the belief that something will change or that the person will finally care enough about me to stop hurting me. Just to clarify, I have only been in one relationship where the guy thought he would hit me and he only got one shot in before I kicked his sorry ass. And that was the end of that but am I really that different from these women who stay in abusive relationships?  I may not let anyone beat on me but I have allowed people to make me feel bad about myself. I have Given so many chances when I suspected that the other person was being dishonest with me. I put up with crap for the same reasons they do…I’m hungry for love. Am I any better?
February 21, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Such a great post! And I just don’t understand this either but its so many people do this. We as women are so emotional and we got to stop taking anything just for the sake of love. Because in all seriousness you are not getting it if you are being hit or mistreated. Love does not hurt! I promise you that. Often the people we love hurt us but it is not love that hurt. Love is such a warm, comforting feeling, that make us smile not cry!

    Comment by serenityluv1 | February 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

