Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

5 Things He’ll Just Have to Accept

All I’ve been hearing lately from people is how relationships are about compromise.  ( Usually I’m hearing it from a man who wants to change something about me…) I agree whole-heartedly that there are times when you need to compromise with the person that you are with for the good of your relationship. I don’t, however, believe that it should be one-sided, with one person constantly pointing out “flaws” and expecting changes to me made. There are also some things that my future man will just have to accept about me:

1) I have  a dog. My dog is loved and spoiled. He sleeps in the bed with me and pretty much has the freedom to roam my home and do what he wants within reason. I do not obsessively clean his feet or vacuum his hair off of things. I like to keep a nice apartment but I do not go crazy over it. Anyone who has a problem with dogs, or my dog in general need not apply.

2) I have tattoos. I have lots of them actually and I love every single one. In Korea, tattoos are becoming more popular and I was very surprised to hear my co-teacher say that she wanted one. I was told before I came here that I would be stared at and pretty much hated for my tattoos and that hasn’t really been the case. There are still some people here who think that women with tattoos have connections with gangster or they are prostitute and that’s fine. They can be ignorant if they wish. My tattoos are obviously permanent and I don’t want to date anyone who has crazy ideas about what having a tattoo means about a person…or someone whose family is going to make a huge deal out of it.

3) I am emotional. It has nothing to do with being a woman or having PMS. I am just a naturally emotional person. I tend to be very sensitive to the things that certain people say. I don’t keep a lot of people around me so when I do let someone near me, I care about what they think.  I am always working on improving the way I interact with others so some of the sensitivity has worn off over the years. There are certain things that I think are rude and unnecessary and I’m not going to say them to people who I care about and I expect them to have the same respect for me.

4) I’m a casual sort of woman. I have two points here. You are not going to catch me out in public each day wearing heels and make up. As much as I love those things, they are a pain in my butt and I only wear them when I feel like it. I don’t have to wear them everyday to feel good about myself or to look good. Some women like to dress up to the nines everyday and I love the different styles and looks that I see but that’s just not me. I can throw together a hot outfit and beat my face with makeup just as well as the next woman but I’m not going to do it on a daily basis. Second point… notice my use of the word WOMAN instead of girl.

5) I demand respect. I believe that there is a certain way that men and women should treat each other and I won’t settle for less. You aren’t going to talk to me any kind of way or treat me like I don’t matter. If I don’t matter, there’s the door…please dont’ waste another second of my time. I am the type of person to treat my man like a King so I expect to be treated like the Queen I am.

So…there’s my list. I think I might expand it at some point but it’s good for now. ;0)

February 27, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation, Less than 3 | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I agree…you should not have to compromise a lot of things when in a relationship with another. If the person loves you…they’ll love you and all the quirks and flaws that come with being..you! =)

    Comment by Frances antoinette | February 27, 2012 | Reply

  2. Love the use of WOMAN instead of girl. Many men need to realize that they need to use that term instead. Great read!

    Comment by LMs | February 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks! Yeah, I am pretty clear with people about the fact that I’m 29 years old and should not be called a girl. Interestingly enough, a lot of men get very defensive and offended when I point it out….even if I’m super nice about it. I like to ask them how they would feel if I were to call them a boy…they get ever more defensive. Hahaha!

      Comment by truewomanifesto | March 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. If a man wants to change you, he doesn’t really want YOU – that’s what I believe. I like that you know what you want and what you don’t want. Always be true to yourself – if you settle for less you’ll be disappointed every time. Good post!

    Comment by admin | March 1, 2012 | Reply

    • I agree with you! A man who wants to change me actually wants someone else! Thanks so much for the compliments and for reading!

      Comment by truewomanifesto | March 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

