Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

Cry

I am more determined than even to learn Korean and to be effective in my English teaching methods.  I have a student in the 5th grade whom I knew from the start had special needs. She is in the regular 5th grade classroom though she doesn’t really participate or communicate with others. Yesterday, her class group was rushing her to finish an assignment so that they could get points for being the first to finish. They are never the first to finish and that’s because she rarely finishes at all.

So suddenly, she starts to cry and the co-teacher takes her aside as I continue class. She offered to be there for her when she needed it but she was not at all interested in what other people could offer her….except that she said that she wanted her friends to kill her. This 5th grader has expressed that she would like for her life to end and nobody is doing anything about it.

I started asking questions and trying to figure something out. Was there something that she was interested in that we could get her involved in? The co-teacher explained that because of her special needs, her parents had run away and left her with her grandmother. They didn’t have a lot of money so she couldn’t afford to go to any academy after school and most days she sat here at school with her home room teacher after school. My heart was broken.

I asked again if there was something that she was interested in…what could we do for her? My co-teacher said that they only person she showed any interest in was me. She’d mentioned that she liked me and wanted to talk to me but she couldn’t speak English.

Wow….just when you think you have nothing real to offer….when you think that nobody cares…just wow. Before I leave this school, I will have a conversation with her…in Korean…English…I don’t care. I will connect with this girl. Nobody else is trying to do anything to help her but I will.

April 24, 2012 - Posted by | Affirmation, Less than 3 | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Its always situations and stories like these that lift my spirits about the world and that the human race may not be doomed after all. Keep on truckin’!

    Comment by blahdamean | April 26, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks so much! Your kind words are inspiration to me!

      Comment by truewomanifesto | April 26, 2012 | Reply

      • You have it reversed my friend: YOU inspire all of us!

        Comment by blahdamean | April 26, 2012

  2. I’m about to be in tears, but none of that now because I cried enough for this week! I’ll share this, I was in special ed and if it wasn’t for my LORD AND SAVIOR, mother ,4 teachers and a paraprofessional in my school years I will not be the person I am today! I will pray that you learn enough Korean to help this little girl! Her parents suck so badly however, I think they don’t know any better and had no one helping them to train their child with special needs! I don’t know how the school systems works over there (Korean) because as you know (your from America lol) we have problems in the U.S.A and support groups for children with special needs! Again I will pray for you and this little girl, who needs assists with her learning!

    I’m praying to God that I would be able to teach in South Korea very soon! Love your blog!

    Comment by Ebony Nicole (@BklynStars4ever) | May 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

