Get Up & Grow

"We're adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop? "

When?!

I am getting no closer to writing this book. I have a few pages scribbled into a random notebook and a few more pages on both PCs. *sigh* From the outside looking it, it would appear that I don’t care about this at all. But I know I do…I perk up every time I see a blog about self-publishing…I get the urge to write and make notes and be creative. What’s the problem?

I think that I need a time and space to devote to writing. Everyday, I should go to a specific space at a specific time and write. ( Even if I don’t feel like it….even if I’m tired…even if I have a headache.) There are very few things that I absolutely MAKE myself do no matter what. Maybe I should start.

So, I decide a couple of months ago that a novel was a bit much for me at this time. I want to take things one step at a time and start with a short story. I definitely wouldn’t mind having my short story selling on Kindles everywhere for 99 cents. Hey, it’s a start and it would make me very happy.

I have read so many novels like the one I want to write. Paranormal romance and romance in general is all I read and I just find myself thinking ” How in the hell could I ever write something this wonderful?” I mean, my favorite authors make me feel so many things! Can I actually write something that is that great? Something that other people can relate to? Something they will love and want more of?

Doubt and fear…that’s what it boils down to. I know all of the published authors that I talk to always say to write without fear but that’s so much easier said than done! I’m told to just write and not to even read it over until later. Make corrections and changes later…for now, just get what you want to say out.

Ok…I think I can do that…

May 8, 2012 - Posted by | iWrite | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Well, you won’t know until you give it a shot, right? =] Good luck!

    Comment by Zen | May 8, 2012 | Reply

    • You’re right! Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂

      Comment by truewomanifesto | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  2. “Write without fear” is exactly the right strategy. Write to please yourself. Later on, you can bear up under criticism and bad reviews as long as you know you gave it your best shot. That’s what I’m trying to do myself!

    Comment by lgould171784 | May 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

